Site icon Sport-Journal

Chelsea swept FIFA’s The Best Awards

Chelsea FC was the most awarded team this Monday during the gala The Best of FIFA

January 17, 2022 10:22 p.m.

Starting with the players, Chelsea won Male Goalkeeper vote, where Edouard Mendy was the winner over Gianluigi Donnarumma and Manuel Neuer. The one who was one of the great figures that Chelsea had in the last Champions League and European Super Cup, took the award.

In the constitution of the teams of the year, the London team had as representatives the midfielders N’Golo Kanté and Jorginho, who was also crowned champion with Italy during the last European Championship. As for women’s football, defenders Millie Bright and Magdalena Eriksson were part of the controversial eleven of the women’s year that ended up being revealed.

Finally, in the category of the best coaches, Chelsea had no rival, in both categories the representatives of the blue team surprised in the voting against the favorites for the award. On the women’s side, Emma Hayes won the award for Women’s Football Manager of the Year over Spaniard Lluís Cortés of FC Barcelona, ​​who was the top favourite. For his part in men’s football, Thomas Tuchel prevailed over the Premier League leader, Pep Guardiola, and the champion of the last European Championship, Roberto Mancini.


Exit mobile version