HomeFORMULA 1

Formula 1 US Grand Prix: time and TV

Verstappen, who has a six-point lead over Hamilton in the 2021 championship, claimed his ninth pole of the season with a time of 1 minute 32.910


Verstappen, who has a six-point lead over Hamilton in the 2021 championship, claimed his ninth pole of the season with a time of 1 minute 32.910 seconds on his last lap at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas. .

Two tenths behind the Dutchman was Hamilton. ‘Checo’ Pérez, who fought until the end to achieve his first ‘pole’ in Formula 1, finished 0.15 seconds behind Hamilton.

Starting grid for the United States Grand Prix

  1. Max Verstappen (Hol / Red Bull)
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Gbr / Mercedes).
  3. Sergio Pérez (Mex / Red Bull)
  4. Charles Leclerc (Món / Ferrari).
  5. Carlos Sáinz (Esp / Ferrari)
  6. Daniel Ricciardo (Aus / McLaren).
  7. Lando Norris (Gbr / McLaren)
  8. Pierre Gasly (Fra / Alpha Tauri).
  9. Valtteri Bottas (Fin / Mercedes)
  10. Yuki Tsunoda (Jap / Alpha Tauri).
  11. Esteban Ocon (Fra / Alpine)
  12. Antonio Giovinazzi (Ita / Alfa Romeo).
  13. Lance Stroll (Can / Aston Martin)
  14. Nicholas Latifi (Can / Williams).
  15. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin / Alfa Romeo)
  16. Mick Schumacher (Ale / Haas).
  17. Nikita Mazepin (Rus / Haas)
  18. Sebastian Vettel (Ale / Aston Martin)
  19. Fernando Alonso (Esp / Alpine)
  20. George Russell (Gbr / Williams).

Where to see the Formula 1 US Grand Prix

After a weekend off after the race in Turkey, Formula 1 continues this weekend with the 17th round of the World Championship, the United States Grand Prix, in Austin, Texas, with transmission of ESPN2 signals, ESPN3 and Star +.

US Grand Prix schedule

Below are the schedules by country of the US GP:

  • Argentina 16:00
  • Mexico 14:00
  • Colombia 14:00
  • Peru 14:00
  • Uruguay 16:00
  • Brazil 16:00
  • Paraguay 16:00
  • Bolivia 15:00
  • Chile 16:00
  • Ecuador 16:00
  • Venezuela 15:00
  • Spain 21:00

“It will be a very long race. I think the qualifying position is not so relevant,” said Pérez, who had been the fastest in the second and third free practice sessions.

The Circuit of the Americas will thus experience a new duel between Verstappen, who is seeking his first title at the age of 24, and Hamilton, seven times world champion.

The Dutchman leads by six points with six races remaining on the calendar but the Briton has prevailed in five of the eight events held at the Austin circuit since his Formula 1 debut in 2012.

Verstappen, meanwhile, has achieved a fourth, third and second position at this circuit.

“In Q3 (qualifying stage 3) my first lap was not incredible. On the last lap it started to drizzle in the final sector, so I wasn’t sure if I could keep my lap time, but it went well.” Verstappen congratulated.

“Today I have given everything, qualifying was a bit difficult,” admitted Hamilton. “I was happy with my last lap. Of course there are always things we can improve on, but I think that was pretty much all we had.”

“Tomorrow we will work as hard as we can. My mentality is to win the race,” he said.

Hamilton and Verstappen have been in a tense duel for months that grew in temperature on Friday when they fought an explosive head-to-head down the stretch in Austin.

Verstappen later insulted Hamilton from the car and showed him the middle finger for not letting him pass before a curve.

The remainder of the top half of Sunday’s grid will be made up of Monegasque Charles Leclerc and Spaniard Carlos Sainz, both from Ferrari, followed by Daniel Ricciardo and Lando Norris in McLaren cars.

Finn Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes) was the fourth fastest driver but will drop to ninth on the grid due to an engine change.

The Spanish Fernando Alonso (Alpine), double world champion, finished in 14th place and will start on Sunday from the back of the grid for his fourth engine change of the season.

Each driver is only allowed three changes during the campaign, for which Alonso received an automatic sanction.

The Austin race marks the return of Formula 1 to the United States after this Grand Prix was suspended last season due to the covid-19 pandemic.