Joel Thelen, champion of the Amanali Classic on the Mexican Golf Tour

A motivated Joel Thelen came from behind to win the Amanali Classic, a tournament that opened the 2022-23 season of the Mexican Profession

A motivated came from behind to win the , a tournament that opened the 2022-23 season of the and distributed a purse of one million 600 thousand pesos.

The American, who has been a member of the only paid circuit in our country for five seasons, registered a last round of 67 hits for a total of 197 hits, 19 under par, two ahead of the Mexican Emilio González.

“I’m very happy, it’s my first important victory as a professional,” said Texan Thelen, who made his debut as in the paid sector a few years ago in a tournament in Minnesota. “I’ve been on the Mexican Professional Tour from the beginning and without a doubt Mexico is my second home,” added the winner of 265 thousand pesos.

“It was a great day, Emilio González played very well and what can I say about Sebastián Vázquez throughout the tournament. I must admit that Sebastián’s 62 strokes during the first day motivated me a lot to play better and thank God I was given the victory”, added the native of Forth Worth, Texas.

For the final round, Thelen came out in second position after an impact from the Mexican Sebastián Vázquez, third in the competition (201, -15) that took place at the Amanali Country Club & Náutica, a par 72 layout, with 7,361 yards.

“I played very solid, I made the most of all the opportunities I had for birdie. All aspects of my game were key to being able to defeat Sebastián and Emilio, I had patience and luckily things worked out for me on a wonderful course like Amanali”, said Joel Thelen.

Six members of the top ten in earnings from the previous campaign were present at the Amanali Classic: José Toledo (1) from Guatemala, Manuel Torres from Venezuela (3), as well as the Mexicans Isidro Benítez (4), Oscar Fraustro (6) , Juan Carlos Benítez (8) and Rodolfo Cazaubón (10).


The winning team of the ProAm was led by the professional Luis Felipe Torres and the amateurs Mauricio Almeida, Tersos Hernández, Armando Tapia and Uzziel Peña. Second place went to Juan de Jesús Gómez Naranjo, Alfredo Minutti, Héctor Estrada, Benito Gómez and the professional Gonzalo Rubio.

Finally, the third position corresponded to the squad of the professional Juan Carlos Benítez and the amateurs José Luis Abed, Emiliano Abed, José Alberto Delgado and José Francisco Pérez.