Mexico starts 2022 with 15 world boxing champions

Commanded by the best pound for pound on the planet, Saul Alvarez, Mexican boxing begins in 2022 with 15 world champions, seven men and eight women

Commanded by the best pound for pound on the planet, Saul Alvarez, Mexican begins in 2022 with 15 champions, and , who will seek to maintain their reign.

“Canelo” Álvarez (57-1-2, 39 KO’s), who was crowned the first undisputed 168-pound monarch in history, will seek to become the first tricolor to become world champion in five divisions this year, when he seeks the Cruiser scepter (200 pounds) of the World Boxing Council (WBC), currently owned by Congolese Ilunga Makabu (28-2, 25 KO’s).

The man from Guadalajara has already been crowned in the Superwelter (WBC, WBA and WBO), Medium (WBC, WBA and FIB), Super Middle (WBA, WBO, WBC and FIB) and Semicomplete (WBO) divisions.

Juan Francisco “Gallo” Estrada, who is also considered among the best pound for pound according to The Ring Magazine, owns the WBA and WBC Superfly crowns – an organization in which he is a franchise champion – and in 2022 he will seek to establish himself undisputed monarch.

Oscar Valdez, owner of the Superfeather sash of the green and gold body, will try to consolidate at 130 pounds and unify his title. While Emanuel Navarrete He will do the same at 126 pounds where he boasts the WBO scepter.

Leo Santa Cruz, AMB super pen, Julio César “Rey” Martínez, WBC fly, and Esteban Bermúdez, WBA Mini Fly, complete the list.

Miguel “Alacrán” Berchelt, Luis “Pantera” Nery, Elwin “Pulga” Soto lost their crowns in 2021. While Eduardo “Zurdito” Ramírez he gave up his championship.

In women’s boxing Erika cruz, WBA Feather Super Champion; Yamileth Market, Super Bantamweight CMB; Yulihan moon, Rooster CMB; Maribel ramirez, WBA Superfly; Lourdes Juarez, Superfly CMB; Guadalupe Baptist, WBA Mini Fly; Yesenia Gomez, WBC Mini Fly; and Monserrat Alarcon, Atom WBA, are the current champions.

Érika Cruz celebrates in the ring

Not to mention that Jessica Gonzalez (Rooster), Sonia Osorio (Superfly) and Kenia Enriquez (Mini Fly) are interim WBC champions and are waiting for their chance to become absolute monarchs.