MotoGP: Jack Miller, with the PP of the San Marino GP

Jack Miller, with the PP of the San Marino GP (PHOTO: MotoGP) Jack Miller He stayed with the PP of the San Marino Grand Prix, in a dramati

Jack Miller, with the PP of the San Marino GP (PHOTO: MotoGP)

Jack Miller He stayed with the PP of the San Marino Grand Prix, in a dramatic session due to the influence of weather conditions.

The rain was an important equalizer in this Saturday’s session at Misano. Although the water appeared significantly from the end of Q1, the period was very short, forcing the Q2 participants to make quick decisions, having to adapt to the track conditions.

Miguel Oliveira (KTM) and Enea Bastianini (Gresini) were the only ones to start the session with dry tires, while the rest started with wet compounds. Seeing the speed of the Portuguese and the Italian, they all had to change machines.

See results

But this led to an incredible amount of change in the first place, while improving times by up to nine seconds. Miller, Bastianini and Marco Bezzecchi (VR46) went through the lead, as well as Johann Zarco and Francesco Bagnaia, who seemed to have the advantage in the last three minutes.

The Frenchman recorded a 1m32.201s, something the Australian surpassed with 40 seconds to go, with a time of 1m31.899s. Neither Bagnaia nor Bastianini managed to take the first place from him, being the winner of the last three races the one who was 15 thousandths behind. For his part, the member of Gresini had an advantage in the second sector, but finished with a deficit of 0.115s.

In this way, Miller secured his second PP in the MotoGP star race and the first since Argentina in 2018; Ducati he held the top four and six of the top seven in the session.

Although he finished second, Bagnaia will have to start in fifth place, since yesterday he received a three-place penalty for blocking the passage of Alex Marquez in one of the training sessions.

This will promote Bastianini and Bezzecchi to the front row, ahead of Maverick Vinales (Aprilia), the only non-Ducati rider in the first two rows. Bagnaia will start fifth, ahead of Zarco.

Luca Marina (VR46) completed Ducati’s hegemony by qualifying seventh ahead of the World Championship leader, fabio quartararo (Yamaha), whose deficit was just 347 thousandths. In any case, the Frenchman finished in front of Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia), his closest pursuer in the title race.

Oliveira was unable to remain competitive and settled for tenth place, followed by Franco Morbidelli (yamaha) and Alex Rins (Suzuki).

Both Bezzecchi and Marini benefited from the appearance of rain at the end of Q1 to advance to the next segment, leaving George Martin (Pramac) eleven thousandths below the cut.

The Italian Andrea Dovizioso (RNF Yamaha) will start 18th in his last MotoGP participation while Kazuki Watanabe, replacement for the injured Joan Mir at Suzuki, he will be 23rd and second from last, after overtaking the Tech3 centaurs.

The San Marino MotoGP GP will start this Sunday at 7 AM (CDMX time).