MotoGP returns to normality in its 2022 calendar

The FIM has just communicated the first draft of the calendar for the 2022 MotoGP World Championship, which highlights the intention of recovering normality before the pandemic with a competition with 21 Grands Prix, more than ever before, with the continuity of the four Spaniards despite the the Sword of Damocles in the form of rotation that hung over them, five in the Iberian Peninsula counting Portimao, and the entries, subject to the homologation of their tracks, of the GGPP of Indonesia and Finland.

The Spanish appointments are set on May 1 in Jerez, June 5 in Catalonia, September 18 in Aragon and November 7 in Cheste.

“All dates, events and spectator attendance are subject to the evolution of the pandemic and the approval of the corresponding governments and authorities,” they highlight in their statement.

As with the F1 calendar, the entire block is ahead of the usual dates so as not to coincide with the great sporting event of 2022, the soccer World Cup, which, when held in Qatar, changes the usual dates of the competition in the summer in the Northern Hemisphere and will begin on November 22.

Thus, the Qatar Night GP will be held on March 6, three weeks before this year, and will be followed by the first great novelty, the Mandalika street circuit, pending homologation. Then the calendar enters a certain normality with the jump to America and the return to Europe that instead of being direct to Jerez it will be to Portimao. The European order remains the same as in 2021 and the news comes after Assen with Finland, also pending homologation, on July 10, and after the break, which will be just three weeks this time, Silverstone becomes the first event of August (7 August) and Red Bull Ring the second (21 August).

Misano and Aragon will give way to the Asia and Oceania tour that is divided into two doublets: Japan-Thailand and Australia-Malaysia, but the first of them will form a triplet with Aragon in a major logistics effort. Cheste will close the championship on November 6.


06 March Qatar GP * Losail International Circuit

March 20 Indonesian GP ** Mandalika International Street Circuit

03 April Argentine GP Termas de Rio Hondo

April 10 GP Americas Circuit of The Americas-Austin

April 24 GP Portugal Algarve International Circuit

01 May Spanish GP Circuit of Jerez-Ángel Nieto

May 15 French Le Mans GP

29 May Italian GP Autodromo del Mugello

05 June GP Catalunya Barcelona-Catalunya

19 June German GP Sachsenring

June 26 Netherlands GP TT Circuit Assen

July 10 Finnish GP ** KymiRing

07 August Great Britain GP Silverstone Circuit

21 August Austrian GP Red Bull Ring-Spielberg

04 September GP San Marino Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli

September 18 GP Aragón MotorLand Aragón

September 25 Japanese GP Twin Ring Motegi

02 October Thai GP Chang International Circuit

October 16 Australian GP Philip Island

23 October Malaysian GP Sepang International Circuit

06 November GP Com. Valenciana Circuit Ricardo Tormo-Cheste

* night races

** subject to approval