NBA Finals 2021: The list of teams that have never won an NBA title: Suns lose their third final

NBA Finals 2021 How many of the 30 franchises have never won the championship? How many NBA teams have not won a championship? AP / Reuters / Gett

NBA Finals 2021 How many of the 30 franchises have never won the championship?

How many NBA teams have not won a championship?
AP / Reuters / Getty Images

SThere are 30 teams that participate year after year in the NBA, 15 in each conference, and since the NBA and the ABA (American Basketball Association) joined in 1976, at least half the teams have won even one title, 10 have managed to repeat the ring, but 11 franchises have never been able to win. Some of them have been closer than others, but being close is not enough, as happened to the Phoenix Suns, who lost their third edition of the Finals.

These are the 11 teams who, thus far, have failed to lift the coveted Larry O’Brien Trophy.

Before this season, the Suns have the worst time since its founding in 1968, since dragged a streak of 10 consecutive years without qualifying for the Playoffs, since losing the conference finals in 2010 to the Lakers, who were champions that year.

This year they were second in the West and returned to the Finals for the first time since 1993, but they still can’t get their showcases open after losing to the Bucks.

In addition to 2021, the Suns have two Finals appearances in their history. In 1976, fell against Boston (2-4), in a series that was tied until the triple overtime duel that the Celtics won to become 3-2. 15 years later, in 1993, fell again 2-4 against Michael Jordan’s Chicago Bulls, although they had the locala, but they lost the three home games in Phoenix.

The Jazz could not win a ring despite having the duo of John Stockton and Karl Malone for a reason called Michael Jordan.

Jazz came to two consecutive NBA Finals in 1997 and 1998, but both lost to the Chicago Bulls 2-4.

In more recent history, Utah All-Star players like Donovan Mitchell and Rudy Gobert have failed to advance as their regular-season performance promised. They let go a 3-1 in favor against Denver in 2020 and a 2-0 against the Clippers in 2021.

The franchise created in New Jersey managed to win two ABA titles in 1974 and 1976, but never an official NBA title.

This year they aimed to be the top favorites since they announced the incorporation of James Harden, who will make a super team with Kyrie Irving and Kevin Durant, but they stayed on the shore since lost the conference semifinals in seven games, with a Harden on one leg and an Irving out since Game 4.

The now Brooklyn Nets, just like Utah, They have only reached two NBA Finals and they were consecutively, but they lost in 2002 (Lakers 4-0) and 2003 (Spurs 4-2).

The Magic are one of the youngest franchises in the leagueBut they have had the privilege of having stars like Tracy McGrady and Shaquille O’Neal. That was not enough to lift the Larry O’Brien, since they fell in their only two Finals played.

In nineteen ninety five, Shaq’s men fell 0-4 against Hakkem Olajuwon’s Rockets. In 2009 they reached their second final, now against the Lakers, but succumbed 1-4.

The Indiana Pacers were founded in 1967 and have only been able to reach an NBA Finals, against the Lakers in 2000, but those led by Phil Jackson, Kobe Bryant and Shaquille O’Neal won in six games.

The Nuggets joined the NBA in 1978 and jams have been able to reach a final series. The closest they have are four Western Conference Finals appearances in 1978, 1985, 2009 and last 2020.

Minnesota would be home to 17 NBA titles if the Lakers were still in the state, but they left for California in 1960 after five of those rings in the Land of 10,0000 Lakes.

Now they are headquarters of the Timberwolves, who joined the league in the 1989-90 season and since then they have only arrived at West End once, which they lost to the Lakers in 2004.

The Grizzlies are originally from Vancouver, but in 2001 they moved to Memphis.

Like several teams in the league, they have only reached the Conference Finals, in el 2013, when they lost 0-4 to the San Antonio Spurs.

The Hornets are one of the only franchises acquired by a former professional athlete, Michael Jordan, pero Jordan’s success in the Finals as a player has not been passed down to his team.

They are one of the teams that have never even made it to a Conference Final. They have only reached the second round, the Eastern semi-finals, in 1993, 1998, 2001 and 2002.

Born in 2002, the Pelicans have only reached the conference semifinals in their short NBA history. The seasons culminating in 2008 and 2018 were the furthest they have seen New Orleans reach in the postseason.

Born in Buffalo at 70-71, the Clippers reached three conference semis in the East, all lost. After moving to California and until this season, they had never reached conference finalsBut they rallied two 0-2 deficits in the postseason before falling six to the Suns.