The Best Women’s Soccer Coach Award: We vetted the candidates

Nov 28, 2021Who will succeed Sarina Wiegman as the winner of The Best Award for the best FIFA female coach?Five contenders in the running; Wiegman

Nov 28, 2021

  • Who will succeed Sarina Wiegman as the winner of The Best Award for the best FIFA female coach?

  • Five contenders in the running; Wiegman, back on the list

  • We analyze the nominees

From Champions League winners to Olympic gold medals. Who will succeed Sarina Wiegman this year? Or will the Dutch coach manage to revalidate the title?

If you want to contribute your opinion, vote for the coach that you consider most deserves the coveted award that will be awarded on January 17, 2022. To help you decide, we offer below a detailed analysis of the candidates who opt for the The Best Award to the Women’s Soccer Coach.

Lluís Cortés

Last season, Lluís Cortés achieved the greatest successes of his career as a coach. The Catalan coach achieved an unprecedented treble with FC Barcelona: the League, the Cup and, for the first time in the history of the Blaugrana club, the UEFA Women’s Champions League. In the final of the top continental competition, the Barcelona squad beat English Chelsea by an undeniable 4-0. The team led by Cortés scored no less than 208 goals in a total of 47 official matches. Similar numbers led the Lleida coach to win the UEFA award for the best female football coach of the 2020/21 season.

Did you know…?

Lluís Cortés resigned as Barcelona coach at the end of last June. In November 2021 it was announced that the 35-year-old would take the reins of the Ukrainian women’s national team. His official debut as coach took place on 26 November in a match against Scotland valid for the qualifying round of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Peter gerhardsson

Peter Gerhardsson led Sweden to the final of the Tokyo 2020 Women’s Olympic Football Tournament. Before beating Canada in the title duel, the Swedish team remained undefeated and achieved victories as creditable as the 3-0 they inflicted in the phase. from groups to the almighty United States, current world champion. The Scandinavian team only yielded in the final, although it did so in the penalty shootout.

Did you know…?

In the period from October 2020 to August 2021, Sweden coach Peter Gerhardsson had twelve wins, two draws and a single loss.

Emma hayes

What a year for Emma Hayes! At the helm of Chelsea, the British coach conquered the Women’s Super League for the fourth time, won the English League Cup and led the London club to its first Champions League final. In recognition of her achievements, the English Football Federation awarded her the award for the best coach of the year 2020/21 in the Women’s Super League.

Did you know…?

Hayes became the first coach to reach the Champions League final in the last twelve years at the end of last season. No coach had achieved such an achievement since Martina Voss-Tecklenburg, the current German coach, was proclaimed European champion with Duisburg in 2009.

Beverly priestman

Beverly Priestman, the second English coach on the list of nominees, led Canada to the conquest of the greatest success in the history of soccer in the North American country. At 35, the coach, who replaced Kenneth Heiner-Moeller at the helm of the team in October 2020, achieved Olympic gold for Canada in her first year in office and without knowing the defeat in the Tokyo appointment.

Did you know…?

In the 15 international matches in which he led the Canadian national team since last February, Priestman had seven wins, six draws and just two losses, including an unprecedented 12-game unbeaten streak in Canadian history and the first Canucks win against the United States in 20 years.

Sarina wiegman

It is now the fifth time that Sarina Wiegman has been on the list of nominees for The Best Award for Women’s Soccer Coach, an award that the Dutch coach has already won twice. Wiegman, who has led the England team since September 2021, led the Netherlands to the quarter-finals of the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament, where the Oranje team fell on penalties to the United States.

Did you know…?

Wiegman is the first non-British coach to take charge of the England team.