This is how the 2023 MotoGP grid looks with a majority of Spaniards

The 2023 MotoGP grid has been defined with the last move that was missing to complete the puzzle: the free place for the Gas Gas Factory Team (KTM’s satellite Tech 3 team) will be occupied by the Majorcan Augusto Fernández, who will rise from Moto2. There will be a majority of Spaniards: 10 of the 22 drivers, 45% of the grid.

Almost half

The Spanish are the majority in the queen class, 10 of the 22 pilots; the Italians will be six

In this way, next year’s queen cylinder grid will have 13 riders who repeat the team and 9 who change scenery. The casualties are Remy Gardner and Darryn Binder, both from KTM and debutants this year in MotoGP. The Australian based in Sitges, Moto2 champion, is left without a seat and moves to Superbike, while the South African takes a step back, to Moto2, a category he had not been through.

The most notorious changes are caused by the withdrawal of the Suzuki team from the World Championship for economic reasons. In this way, its two riders are released and shake up the market: Joan Mir goes to Repsol Honda for Pol Espargaró, and Álex Rins will go to LCR Honda.

Andrea Dovizioso retires and leaves a vacant place, while Enea Bastianini joins the official Ducati team for Jack Miller, who moves to KTM. Àlex Márquez also changes gear, from LCR Honda to the Gresini team, Ducati’s satellite.

Another of the changes of 2023 will be in the nomenclature and engine suppliers. The Tech3 structure, KTM’s satellite, will become the Gas Gas factory team (with KTM bikes painted red), while the Yamaha subsidiary, the Malaysian RNF, will become the Aprilia satellite.

It’s done like that

The grid of 2023


-Marc Márquez

-Joan Mir

Monster Yamaha

-Fabio Quartararo

-Franco Morbidelli

Lenovo Ducati Team

-Pecco Bagnaia

-Enea Bastianini

Gresini Ducati

-Alex Marquez

– Fabio di Giannantonio

Pramac Ducati

-Jorge Martin

-Johann Zarco

LCR Honda

-Alex Rins

-Takaaki Nakagami

Mooney VR46 Ducati

-Marco Bezzecchi

-Luca Marini


-Aleix Espargaró (ends 2024)

-Maverick Viñales (ends 2024)

RNF Aprilia

-Raul Fernandez

-Miguel Oliveira

red bull ktm

-Brad Binder

-Jack Miller

Tech3 Gas Gas

-Pol Espargaro

-Augusto Fernandez