HomeBOXING

Why is it not allowed to turn your back in boxing?

This blow is received in the back of the head or neck. And while hitting the neck from the front is legal, hitting the neck from behind can result

Why is it not allowed to turn your back in boxing?



This blow is received in the back of the head or neck. And while hitting the neck from the front is legal, hitting the neck from behind can result in a warning or disqualification. It is considered a hit that abuses safety regulations.

Rabbit bumping is illegal

If a referee believes that a boxer is deliberately turning his back on him as some kind of ploy to gain advantage, he will receive a warning. In the event that he continues to turn his back on purpose, he will be disqualified. It is illegal to protect yourself by continually turning your back on your opponent because the rules prohibit hitting yourself in the back. These rules against rabbit punch they have been implanted to increase the security between the boxers.

A rabbit punch is a punch that lands on the back of the head or the top of the neck. It is illegal because the back of the head is a place where our key brain and motor functions are located. A single blow of this type can cause serious injuries to the spinal cord and brain that can be fatal in some cases. That is why subsequent hits are not allowed directly, although it is possible that when trying to hit the face, the opponent will turn and hit him unintentionally.

For example, head movement plays an important role in boxing. Boxers move their heads up and down, left and right all the time to avoid punches. But in doing so, they expose the back of the head, which they cannot protect in the same way than the face or the side of the head. So even if the opponent is aiming for the face, the punch can land behind the ears on the back of the head. In most cases, this happens during the clinch.

Synonym of abandon

Turning your back in a boxing match is also considered a surrender signal, which can result in a disqualification or the referee deciding who wins the round. In most cases, turning on your back is considered a sign that you are already you don’t want to continue the fight.

For these reasons, whether intentional or accidental, the boxer may be disqualified or a warning issued. On many occasions, boxers are so exhausted that they don’t have the strength to stop the game in any other way. Since the referee will stop the fight to comment on the warning, it will be the right moment for the boxer to agree to end the fight. However, it is not a clean decision and can stain the player’s record. He can even be disqualified from a competition.